Henry County Police Department | Henry County, Georgia Henry County Police Department | Henry County, Georgia Henry County Police Department | Henry County, Georgia
Henry County Police Department | Henry County, Georgia Henry County Police Department | Henry County, Georgia Henry County Police Department | Henry County, Georgia
Henry County Police Department | Henry County, Georgia Henry County Police Department | Henry County, Georgia
Menu Options

Police Home
Henry County Home

Chief of Police
» Keith Nichols

Deputy Chief
» Mark Amerman

HCPD History
Internal Affairs
» Captain Mike Ireland

Support Services
» Major K. Going
Records Division
Training Division
Research & Development
Certification Manager
Chaplaincy Program

Criminal Investigations
» Major R. Savage
Crimes Against Persons
Crimes Against Children
Crimes Against Property
Crimes Scene Investigations
Forensic Video
Statement Forms
Financial Crimes
Property & Evidence
Special Services
Special Victims Unit (SVU)

Uniform Patrol
» Major James Burch
Uniform Patrol
Honor Guard
K9 Unit
Motors Unit
School Crossing Guards

Current Openings
Pay & Benefits

Request A Home or Business Check
Statistical Information Request
Citizens Police Academy
Compliment an Officer
File a Complaint on an Officer
Crime Mapping
Firing Range
Photo Gallery
Pill Take Back Program
Fallen Heroes
Sex offenders
Women's Self Defense
Facts On Gangs

Henry County Police Department | Henry County, GA

Contact Us

108 S. Zack Hinton Pkwy
McDonough, GA 30253
Tel: (770) 288-8200

Phone Directory


Henry County Police Department

Department History

Henry County Public Safety Annex

The Henry County Police Department of the State of Georgia was formed in 1991 as a response to the explosive growth that catapulted Henry County from a rural neighbor of Atlanta to its current status as one of the fastest growing counties in the United States. Henry County’s initial provider of law enforcement services was the Sheriff’s Department. However, in an effort to respond to the ever increasing needs of its developing community, the Board of Commissioners voted November 20, 1990 to establish the Henry County Police Department. Former Commissioner Jim Joyner, in explaining the reasoning behind the creation of this new police department, stated that “the county has outgrown Sheriff (Donald) Chaffin’s department. We’re no longer a rural community, rather an urban county.” (Bowles, 1991, June 13). Under the Commission’s plan, the new 84-member police department would patrol the unincorporated areas of the county, while the Sheriff’s Department would serve warrants, run the jail, and handle court functions.

In February 1991, the Board of Commissioner voted and hired a Police Chief to head the creation of the Henry County Bureau of Police Services. On July 1, 1991, the Henry County Bureau of Police Services began operations and provided services to the community. The department began with 58 officers and 26 civilians to serve a population of 58,000 and has gradually expanded to its current allotment of 229 officers and 34 civilians to serve a population, which is estimated at 210,356.*[1]

Due to Henry County's location immediately south of Atlanta and astride Interstate 75, the Police Department deals with a wide range of public safety issues prevalent in both urban and rural areas. Accordingly, the police department provides all traditional police services and has specialty assignments including tactical response, selective traffic enforcement, bicycle patrol, highway interdiction, drug investigation and other special investigations units.

The Henry County Police Department is headed by Chief of Police, Keith Nichols.

Office of the Chief: History

Robert Maxson 02/25/1991 – 02/04/1992
Dale Collins 02/05/1992 – 06/06/1995
Mac Nale (Acting Chief) 06/07/1995 – 02/18/1996
Wayne Bolden 02/19/1996 – 11/30/1996
Jimmy Mercer 03/31/1997 – 01/24/2000
Mac Nale (Interim Chief) 01/24/2000 – 03/19/2000
Mac Nale 03/20/2000 – 04/21/2003
Henry White 06/02/2003 – 11/07/2004
R. Abernathy 11/08/2004 – 02/28/2010
Keith Nichols (Interim Chief)  03/01/2010 - 07/05/2010
Keith Nichols 07/06/2010 - Present

[1] Current personnel allotment is as of July 2014 and population estimate is as of 2013.

Last updated: Tuesday September 23 2014